College Hockey:
CCHA Rookie Team Announced

— Defenseman Daryl Andrews of Western Michigan, who led all CCHA blueliners in points, and freshman scoring leader Hugo Boisvert of Ohio State are among the six members of the 1996-97 Bauer/CCHA All-Rookie Team, selected by CCHA head coaches and announced Monday, March 3, by the league.

The team is to be honored at the CCHA’s awards banquet on March 13, where the league’s Rookie of the Year will be announced. Last year’s winner was goaltender Marc Magliarditi of Western Michigan.

The All-Rookie team includes three forwards, two defensemen and a goaltender chosen from among the CCHA’s member teams.

Andrews (6-20–26), a unanimous selection, led the conference’s rookie defensemen in overall scoring, finishing fourth among WMU players. His +6 plus/minus rating led the Broncos, and his six game-winning assists were third among all CCHA players.

Forward Boisvert (11-27–38) led CCHA rookies in both scoring and assists, as well as topping the Buckeyes in assists. He had 16 power-play points, and tied for second in OSU scoring.

Another unanimous selection was forward Joe Dusbabek (13-12–25) of Notre Dame, second to Boisvert in rookie scoring. Dusbabek led the Irish in plus/minus (+2) and tied for the team lead in overall scoring.

Also named to the All-Rookie Team were:

Forward Adam Edinger (11-14–25) of Bowling Green, whose 11 overall goals and six power-play tallies were fourth and second, respectively, among CCHA freshmen.

Alaska-Fairbanks goalie Chris Marvel (9-11-1, 3.69 GAA, .873 SV%), who played over 1,100 CCHA minutes and is the first Nanook ever to make the team.

Defenseman Josh Mizerek (4-15–19) of Miami, who was second among CCHA rookie blueliners in both overall assists and plus/minus (+9).

Honorable mention went to Ray Aho of Ohio State; Nathan Borega and Tyson Fraser of Notre Dame; Shawn Horcoff and Mike Weaver of Michigan State; Ben Keup of Lake Superior; Brian McCullough and Mike Szkodzinski of Ferris State; and Peter Ratchuk of Bowling Green.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management