College Hockey:
CHUSA Names WCHA Players’ All-Star Team

— College Hockey U.S.A. named its WCHA Players’ All-Star team for the 1996-97 season this week.

Each WCHA school was sent 20 ballots for players to pick the best in the league. Players are not allowed to vote for their teammates.

This is the 24th year of the poll, which was formerly run by WDAZ-TV in Grand Forks, North Dakota before CHUSA took it over five years ago.


Brian Swanson    SO  F  Colorado College
Jason Blake SO F North Dakota
Matt Cullen SO F St. Cloud State
Mike Crowley JR D Minnesota
Eric Rud SR D Colorado College
Kirk Daubenspeck SR G Wisconsin


Dave Hoogsteen   SO  F  North Dakota
Mike Peluso JR F Minnesota-Duluth
David Vallieres SR F Alaska-Anchorage
Curtis Murphy JR D North Dakota
Rick Mrozik JR D Minnesota-Duluth
Doug Tesky SO G Alaska-Anchorage

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Brant Nicklin, freshman goaltender for Minnesota-Duluth.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management