College Hockey:
Four Bids Extended To Women’s National Tourney

Sunday, four teams — New Hampshire, Brown, Northeastern and Minnesota — received invitations to the first American Women’s College Hockey Alliance tournament, which will decide an unofficial national champion for women’s NCAA Division I hockey.

Three of the four invitees are ECAC members. New Hampshire (29-5-3) and Brown (21-6-4) received bids after meeting in the final of ECAC tourney championship, won by Brown, 4-3. Northeastern (25-6-5) was the ECAC’s number-two team during the regular season. Minnesota (21-5-3), playing its first year as a varsity squad, is the lone non-ECAC team.

Fourth-seeded Minnesota will meet top seed New Hampshire in the first semifinal Friday at Harvard, with Northeastern facing Brown next. The two winners advance to the FleetCenter in Boston for the championship game Saturday.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management