College Hockey:
Defending NCAA Champion Sioux Dominate WCHA Awards

Members of the North Dakota Fighting Sioux dominated the year-end awards announced today by the WCHA, as UND players won four major awards and occupied three spots on both of the first-team all-conference and all-rookie teams.

Sioux defenseman Curtis Murphy took home Player of the Year honors after leading conference blueliners in league and overall scoring and anchoring a North Dakota defense that allowed fewer than three goals per game during regular-season play.

Matt Henderson of North Dakota and Andy Sutton of Michigan Tech shared the Defensive Player of the Year honor, while UND goaltender Karl Goehring was named WCHA Rookie of the Year, and teammate Mitch Vig won Student-Athlete of the Year accolades.

Coach of the Year honors went to St. Cloud’s Craig Dahl, who led his team to a 16-11-1 league record and a fourth-place finish after a run at the top of the standings for much of the season.

The All-WCHA first team features three Sioux in Murphy, Goehring and forward Jason Blake, as well as forwards Brian Swanson of Colorado College and Andre Savage of Michigan Tech, and defenseman Craig Anderson of Wisconsin.

Goehring and teammates Jeff Panzer, a forward, and Trevor Hamner, a defenseman, made the All-Rookie team, as did Denver’s Mark Rycroft and Wisconsin’s Kevin Granato at forward and Paul Manning of Colorado College and Ryan Coole of Minnesota-Duluth on defense.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management