College Hockey:
Finalists Dominate All-Tourney Teams

Players from finalist squads dominated the four all-tournament teams selected after yesterday’s championships, as 23 of the 25 all-tourney slots went to members of teams which played in the title games.

All four tournament Most Valuable Players came from championship teams. Hockey East honored Boston College’s Marty Reasoner, who totaled 2-3–5 in two games and assisted on both game-winning goals. In the WCHA, Wisconsin’s Joe Bianchi got the nod after scoring three goals, including both game-winners. Mike York of Michigan State, with two goals in the title game and five points overall, was the pick for the CCHA. And in the ECAC, which names its tourney MVP separately from the six all-tournament selections, Princeton’s Jeff Halpern scored four goals on the weekend to claim the award.

On the CCHA team, runner-up Ohio State actually outdistanced champion Michigan State, four selections to two. Meanwhile, the ECAC team consisted solely of Princeton and Clarkson players. The lone exceptions to the finalists-only rule were Darrel Scoville of Merrimack and Stewart Bodtker of Colorado College, both of whose teams lost semifinal contests.

Hockey East All-Tournament:   WCHA All-Tournament:
G Alfie Michaud, Maine G Graham Melanson, Wis.
D Mike Mottau, BC D Curtis Murphy, UND
D Darrel Scoville, Merrimack D Matt Peterson, Wis.
F Marty Reasoner, BC (MVP) F Jason Blake, UND
F Steve Kariya, Maine F Joe Bianchi, Wis. (MVP)
F Jeff Farkas, BC F Stewart Bodtker, CC

ECAC All-Tournament: CCHA All-Tournament:
G Erasmo Saltarelli, Princeton G Jeff Maund, OSU
D Steve Shirreffs, Princeton D Tyler Harlton, MSU
D Willie Mitchell, Clarkson D Ryan Root, OSU
F Matt Reid, Clarkson F Todd Compeau, OSU
F Syl Apps, Princeton F Mike York, MSU (MVP)
F Casson Masters, Princeton F Chris Richards, OSU
MVP: Jeff Halpern, Princeton

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management