College Hockey:
Yale’s Taylor Takes Spencer Penrose Award

Augsburg's Schwarz Wins Jeremiah Award

Tim Taylor, who led the Yale Bulldogs to their first-ever ECAC regular-season title, has won the Spencer Penrose Award, given by the American Hockey Coaches Association to the Division I Coach of the Year in men’s ice hockey.

Yale, which won the ECAC title with a record of 17-4-1 after being picked tenth in the conference’s preseason poll, also made its first appearance in the NCAA tournament since 1952. The Bulldogs finished with an overall record of 23-9-3.

John Markell, who took the Ohio State Buckeyes to an appearance in the Final Four in their first-ever NCAA tournament, was the runner-up.

Also, Mike Schwartz of Augsburg was named this year’s recipient of the Eddie Jeremiah Award, given by the AHCA to the nation’s top college division (non-Division I) men’s ice hockey coach.

Schwartz, in his second year at the helm at Augsburg, compiled a 21-8-4 to lead the school to the MIAC co-championship during the regular season, followed by Augsburg’s first playoff title. On the national level, the Auggies reached the NCAA semifinals before being defeated by eventual national champion Middlebury.

Bob Emery of Plattsburgh State and Bill Kangas of Williams were named runners-up for the honor.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management