College Hockey:
MAAC Honors Inaugural Class With End-Of-Year Awards

— The MAAC announced its end-of-year awards at its banquet Thursday night here.

Iona freshman forward Ryan Carter was named Offensive Player of the Year, as well as Offensive Rookie of the Year. Carter finished the season with 62 points (32 goals, 30 assists) and leads all Division I players in goals per game (1.0).

Quinnipiac freshman defenseman Dan Ennis pulled off a similar combination win, selected as both Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Rookie of the Year. Ennis appeared in all 32 games for the Braves this season, recording 24 points (8g, 24a) and accumulating a plus/minus rating of +35.

Holy Cross goaltender Scott Simpson was selected as MAAC Goaltender of the Year. Simpson was thrown to the fire midway through the season when the Crusaders’ number-one goalie, Tom Ormondroyd, suffered a concussion that ended his career. In 20 regular season games, Simpson compiled a 13-5-2 record with a 2.20 goals-against average (No. 3 in the nation) and a .911 save percentage.

American International coach Gary Wright was named the conference’s Coach of the Year. Wright, who is in his 15th season as head coach at AIC, led the team to a 12-15-4 record as a Division II team competing among six other Division I clubs.

In addition to Carter, Ennis and Simpson, the first-team All-MAAC squad included forwards Geoff Angell (UConn), Chris Fattey (HC) and Chad Poliquin (QC); defensemen Derek Gilhan (Canisius) and Kris Cumming (QC); and goaltender J.C. Wells (QC).

The second team included forwards Mike Sowa (AIC), Neil Breen (QC) and David Deeves (Canisius); defensemen Rob Martin (UConn) and Mike Maguire (HC); and goaltender Chance Thede (AIC).

The All-Rookie team, in addition to Carter and Ennis, included forwards Neil Breen (QC), Pat Rismiller (HC) and David Deeves (Canisius); defensemen Mike Boylan (UConn) and Joel Tarvudd (Canisius); and goaltender Jon Chain (UConn).

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management