College Hockey:
WCHA Women’s League Finalized

At its annual meetings in Florida on Thursday, the WCHA gave final approval, via a unanimous vote, to the new WCHA women’s league.

“This is indeed a significant development for the WCHA,” said association chair Darrell Smith. “We are all looking forward to playing a major role in the continuing evolution and development of women’s ice hockey at all levels.”

Inaugural members of the league are Minnesota State University-Mankato, the Minnesota, Minnesota-Duluth, St. Cloud State and Wisconsin.

Bemidji State and Ohio State have been invited to join as well.

The new league will begin play in the 1999-2000 season with a 24-game conference schedule and subsequent playoff tournament.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management