College Hockey:
ECAC Moving Towards Automatic Qualification to NCAA D-III Tournament

The NCAA Division III ice hockey committee has recommended to the Division III Championship Committee that the ECAC East and Northeast receive automatic qualification to the 2000 D-III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship. The proposal will reviewed in July.

ECAC East members will be meeting on June 28 to discuss league structure and playoff format for the 1999-2000 season.

Northeast membership and D-II ECAC members will be holding a similar meeting over the summer. In order for them to receive the automatic bid, the East and Northeast conferences must consist of only D-III schools.

Currently, D-II schools in ECAC leagues are St. Anselm in the ECAC East and Assumption, New Hampshire College, St. Michael’s and Stonehill in the ECAC Northeast.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management