College Hockey:
NCAA Gives Final Approval For Women’s Championship

— The NCAA announced Tuesday that during the Jan. 9-10 NCAA convention in San Diego, Calif., its membership adopted legislation to establish an official championship in women’s ice hockey, effective with the 2000-01 season.

The specific format and field size of the championship has not yet been determined.

Currently, 53 schools (25 Division I, two Division II and 26 Division III) sponsor women’s ice hockey as a varsity sport. Of those institutions, 34 are ECAC members: 13 in the Division I women’s league, 17 in the women’s alliance and four as independents.

The NCAA Division III Presidents Council also has announced that it intends to introduce legislation for a vote during the 2001 NCAA Convention that would establish a Division III national championship, effective with the 2001-02 academic year.

The American Women’s College Hockey Alliance, sponsored by USA Hockey, currently conducts championships at the Divisions I and III levels. The 2000 championships will be held March 24-25 at Northeastern University’s Matthews Arena.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management