College Hockey:
CCHA All-Rookie, All-Academic Teams Named

Northern Michigan and league newcomer Nebraska-Omaha each placed two players on the 1999-2000 Bauer/CCHA All-Rookie team, as announced by the league Monday.

The team, selected by a vote of the conference’s coaches, is led by Michigan State goaltender Ryan Miller, who topped all CCHA netminders in save percentage and goals-against average, setting or tying league records in both categories. His five CCHA shutouts also set a league record.

The All-Rookie team will be honored at the 2000 CCHA Awards, Thursday, March 16, at the Fox Theatre in Detroit. The CCHA Rookie of the Year will be named at that time.

The complete roster, with name, position, team and hometown, and including honorable mentions, is as follows:

1999-2000 Bauer/CCHA All-Rookie Team

Pos   Name      School         Hometown
Forward David Brisson Nebraska-Omaha Quebec, QUE
Forward Chris Gobert Northern Michigan Marquette, MI
Forward Andy Hilbert Michigan Howell, MI
Defense Jimmy Jackson Northern Michigan Marquette, MI
Defense Greg Zanon Nebraska-Omaha Burnaby, BC
Goal Ryan Miller Michigan State East Lansing, MI

Honorable mentions

Forwards: Mike Cammalleri, Michigan; Ryan Fultz, Bowling Green; Nick Jardine, Miami; Chris Kunitz, Ferris State; Brian Maloney, Michigan State Defensemen: David Cousineau, Western Michigan; John-Michael Liles, Michigan State; Troy Milam, Ferris State Goaltenders: Lance Mayes, Alaska-Fairbanks; Tony Zasowski, Notre Dame

A roster of eight players compose this year’s CCHA All-Academic team, including Bowling Green senior Zach Ham and Michigan State senior Shawn Horcoff, each making his second consecutive appearance. It is the third straight All-Academic acknowledgement for Horcoff, who was selected as an honorable mention his sophomore year.

For the first time since the award’s inception in 1988-89, eight players have been named; the awards are voted on by the league’s faculty athletic representatives, and the six players with the most votes are named to the team. Ties are not broken, leading to this season’s roster of eight

1999-2000 CCHA All-Academic Team

Name        Cls Pos   Team      MajorZach Ham      Sr. Forward Bowling Green Arch./Env. Engineering
Andy Jurkowski Sr. Forward Notre Dame Finance
Jim Dube Jr. Defense Ferris State Business Management
Dustin Whitecotton Sr. Forward Miami Exercise Science
Shawn Horcoff Sr. Forward Michigan State Management
Gary Ricciardi Sr. Defense Ferris State Applied Biology
Joe Blackburn Jr. Goal Michigan State Special Education
Jason Redenius Sr. Forward Western Mich. Aviation

Honorable mention: Nick Fohr, F, Nebraska Omaha; Jeff Jillson, D, Michigan; Will Magnuson, D, Lake Superior; Brian McCullough, F, Ferris State; Grady Moore, D, Bowling Green; Craig Murray, F, Michigan; Dave Noel-Bernier, F, Nebraska Omaha; Bart Redden, F, Lake Superior; Darren Tiemstra, D, Alaska Fairbanks; Scott Titus, D, Ohio State; Mark Wilkinson,
F, Western Michigan.

To be eligible for consideration, a player must have completed at least one academic year and have a 3.00 grade-point average on a 4.00 scale. All players receiving at least one vote receive honorable mention, while all nominated receive special mention.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management