College Hockey:
New England Writers Dish Out Awards

Boston University coach Jack Parker and goaltender Rick DiPietro shared top Division I honors with Boston College’s Mike Mottau and Brian Gionta in awards presented on Apr. 11 by the New England Hockey Writers Association. The three athletes also led the All-New England team.

The late Joe Concannon, long-time Boston Globe writer, was posthumously honored with the Scheaffer Pen award for lifetime contributions to hockey.

Parker was named Division I Coach of the Year, leading the Terriers to a 25-10-7 record and a Hockey East regular-season title after being picked in the preseason to finish fifth in the league.

DiPietro was the only winner of two honors, earning the Leonard Fowle Award as New England’s Most Valuable Player and the George Carens Award as Rookie of the Year.

The writers selected Mottau and Gionta as the most outstanding defenseman and forward, respectively. Mottau was also presented with the previously-announced Walter Brown Award, given by the Gridiron Club to the top American-born player competing in New England.

Men’s Individual Awards

Leonard Fowle Award (Most Valuable Player)
Rick DiPietro, Boston University

Herb Gallagher Award (Outstanding Forward)
Brian Gionta, Boston College

New England Writers Award (Outstanding Defenseman)
Mike Mottau, Boston College

Frank Jones Award (Best Defensive Forward)
Blake Bellefeuille, Boston College

Paul Hines Award (Most Improved Player)
Chris Dyment, Boston University

George Carens Award (Rookie of the Year)
Rick DiPietro, Boston University

Joe Tomasello Award (Unsung Hero)
J.R. Prestifilippo, Harvard

The New England writers also announced their Division I All-Star Team.

Goaltender              Goaltender
Rick DiPietro, Boston University Ty Conklin, New Hampshire

Defensemen Defensemen
Mike Mottau, Boston College Chris Dyment, Boston University
Pat Aufiero, Boston University Doug Janik, Maine

Forwards Forwards
Brian Gionta, Boston College Darren Haydar, New Hampshire
Cory Larose, Maine Mike Souza, New Hampshire
Jeff Farkas, Boston College Doug Sheppard, Providence

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management