College Hockey:
New England Writers Name D-II/III All-Stars

NCAA Division III national champion Norwich University led the way with four selections as the New England Hockey Writers Association named its Division II and III All-Star teams.

At the association’s annual awards banquet April 11, the writers named a “Division II” all-star team selected from the NESCAC and ECAC East, and a “Division III” team from the ECAC Northeast.

The two divisions represent the level in which the teams in the predecessors to the respective leagues played, prior to the NCAA dropping the Division II championship after the 1984 season.

Norwich coach Mike McShane was named Division II Coach of the Year. He led the Cadets to a 29-2-1 record and was earlier honored as this season’s AHCA College Division Coach of the Year.

Wentworth’s Bill Bowes received the award for Division III Coach of the Year. The 17-12-1 Leopards won the ECAC Northeast championship and made their first visit to the NCAAs, losing in the first round to eventual runner-up St. Thomas.

Men’s Division “II” (ECAC East and NESCAC)

David Haimson, Williams Lou Mastromarino, Salem State

Ben Barnett, Middlebury Brian Collum, Southern Maine
Mike Ludwar, Norwich Jim Smith, Amherst

Keith Aucoin, Norwich Marc Bellemare, Norwich
David Garofalo, New England Coll. John Giannacopoulos, Middlebury
Curt Goldman, Middlebury Jim Nagle, Norwich

Men’s Division “III” (ECAC Northeast)

Nick Gangemi, Fitchburg Jeff Reid, Wentworth

Mike Close, Stonehill Rob Hunt, Fitchburg
Dan Mahoney, Tufts Gary Whittier, Western New England

Tom Brown, UMass-Dartmouth Drew Carleton, Tufts
Evan Crockford, Suffolk Jeff DuRoss, Fitchburg
Jim Egan, UMass-Dartmouth Jamie Weiss, Wentworth

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management