College Hockey:
Fan Balloting Begins in Hobey Nominating Process

— The initial phase of fan balloting for the 2001 Hobey Baker Award has begun via the Internet at U.S. College Hockey Online. Until Jan. 7, 2001, hockey fans have the unique opportunity to nominate Division I college hockey players to receive the prestigious Hobey Baker Award.

Presented annually to the top men’s collegiate hockey player in the U.S., the Hobey Baker Award is college hockey’s top individual prize.

Candidates receiving at least 25 nominating votes will become eligible to receive votes in the second phase: Finalist Selection. Hockey fans can follow the nominating progress with weekly updates every Monday, beginning December 18, at VoteForHobey.com.

The second phase begins Jan. 8, and runs through March 4. During that time, registered voters may cast one ballot per day for their first, second and third choices. Fans will be casting ballots along with the 60 Division I college hockey head coaches, and the cumulative winners of the fan voting will receive a percentage of the final tally in determining the Top Ten Finalists. That list of elite players will be announced on Thursday, March 15.

In the final round of balloting, running from March 16-28, registered voters can, once per day, cast their ballots ranking their candidates one through five. The top selection from the fans will join the ballots from the Selection Committee (comprised of college hockey personal, pro scouts and media) in determining the 2001 Hobey Baker Award winner. The award recipient will be announced in a live telecast from the NCAA Frozen Four Tournament in Albany, N.Y. on Friday, April 6, 2001.

The Hobey Baker Award criteria include strength of character on and off the ice, scholastic achievements, and sportsmanship.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management