College Hockey:
Keith Aucoin Named ECAC East Player of the Year

— Norwich’s Keith Aucoin has been named ECAC/CCM All-East Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, as the conference announced its major award winners for 2000-2001. The senior helped the Cadets claim the East regular-season title (13-3-1) while becoming the league’s top scorer with 45 points in just 17 games.

Aucoin also ranks fourth among the Division III’s top scorers in points per game (2.00) and first in shorthanded goals (7) through Feb. 25. His efforts enabled Norwich to claim the top seed and home ice throughout the East playoffs.

Salem State’s Kaleb Christenson received ECAC/Heaton Goaltender of the Year honors. In 16 league appearances Christenson recorded a 10-4-2 mark and .931 save percentage. The sophomore’s netminder consistency was the key to Salem State’s second place league finish.

Aucoin’s teammate, Chris Petracco was selected as the ECAC/CCM Rookie of the Year. Petracco made a smooth transition into college hockey during which he led all rookies in scoring both in league action, recording 15 goals and 13 assists in 17 games, and overall with 18 goals and 14 assists. The rookie’s stellar first-year performance enabled Norwich to capture their second consecutive league title.

Babson’s Paul Donato was named ECAC/KOHO Coach of the Year. In his seventh season behind the Beaver’s bench, Donato guided Babson to an 8-6-3 regular season league record (15-7-4 overall).


F Keith Aucoin, Sr, Norwich
F Eric Bookbinder, SR, Babson
F Ralph Aiello, SR, New England College
D Mark Fontas, SR, UMass Boston
D Toza Crnilovic, SO, Norwich
G Kaleb Christenson, SO, Salem State


F Bobby Weston, SR, Babson
F Keith Wallace, SR, New England College
F Chris Petracco, FR, Norwich
D Derek Trainor, SR, UMass Boston
D Rob Miller, SR, Salem State
G Greg Berard, JR, Babson


F Derek Nisula, Babson
F Eric Tkacz, Babson
F Greg LeColst, Salem State
F Chris Petracco, Norwich
D Johan Alderin, New England College
D Lou DiMasi, Norwich

ECAC/CCM PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Keith Aucoin, Norwich
ECAC/CCM ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Chris Petracco, Norwich
ECAC/HEATON GOALTENDER OF THE YEAR: Kaleb Christenson, Salem State

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management