College Hockey:
Anderson Named ECAC POTY as SLU Leads Annual Awards

— Defending ECAC champion St. Lawrence led the way in the 2000-2001 ECAC awards, announced Thursday morning. The Saints placed three members on the All-ECAC First Team and picked up two pieces of hardware, the Defensive Forward of the Year and the Player of the Year.

ecac winners1 Anderson Named ECAC POTY as SLU Leads Annual Awards

(l. to r.) Jonas, Gellard, Anderson, Desrosiers, Huskins, McFeeters

Erik Anderson (16-24–50), the captain of the Saints, earned the ECAC Player of the Year Award. The Hobey Baker finalist also is a member of the All-ECAC First Team.

Meanwhile, Saint leading scorer Mike Gellard (19-35–54) was honored as Best Defensive Forward and also was named to the All- ECAC First Team.

The other Saint named First Team All-ECAC was defenseman Matt Desrosiers. Yale’s Jeff Hamilton was the third forward named to the All- ECAC First Team.

The Dryden Award Winner, given to the league’s top goaltender, was Oliver Jonas of Harvard. Jonas, a senior, had a .915 save percentage and a 2.99 GAA this season. He was also named the goaltender for the All-ECAC First Team.

The Defensive Defenseman Award went to the other defenseman named to the All-ECAC First Team, Clarkson’s Kent Huskins.

ecac e anderson2 Anderson Named ECAC POTY as SLU Leads Annual Awards

Erik Anderson was named ECAC Player of the Year Thursday.

The All-ECAC Second Team consisted of Harvard’s Dominic Moore, Colgate’s Sean Nolan and Clarkson’s Matt Poapst at forward; Colgate’s Cory Murphy and Dartmouth’s Trevor Byrne at defense; and at goaltender, Clarkson’s Mike Walsh.

The All-Rookie Team consisted of Rensselaer’s Nathan Marsters in goal, Yale’s Jeff Dwyer and Colgate’s Rob Brown on defense, Vermont’s Patrick Sharp, Harvard’s Tim Pettit and Clarkson’s Rob McFeeters at forward.

The Rookie of the Year went to McFeeters (15-15–30), who bested Marsters (.929, 2.35 GAA) for the award.

The Coach of the Year was Clarkson’s Mark Morris. The Golden Knights were picked to finish fourth by the league coaches, but Morris guided his Knights to their ninth ECAC regular-season title.

ECAC Player of the Year

Erik Anderson, Sr., F, St. Lawrence

ECAC Coach of the Year

Mark Morris, Clarkson

ECAC Rookie of the Year

Rob McFeeters, F, Clarkson

Defensive Forward of the Year

Mike Gellard, Sr., St. Lawrence

Defensive Defenseman of the Year

Kent Huskins, Sr., Clarkson

ecac o jonas3 Anderson Named ECAC POTY as SLU Leads Annual Awards

Oliver Jonas picked up the Ken Dryden Award

Dryden Award

Oliver Jonas, Sr., Harvard

All-ECAC First Team

F Erik Anderson, Sr., St. Lawrence
F Mike Gellard, Sr., St. Lawrence
F Jeff Hamilton, Sr., Yale
D Matt Desrosiers, Sr., St. Lawrence
D Kent Huskins, Sr., Clarkson
G Oliver Jonas, Sr., Harvard

All-ECAC Second Team

F Dominic Moore, So., Harvard
F Sean Nolan, Sr., Colgate
F Matt Poapst, Jr., Clarkson
D Trevor Byrne, So., Dartmouth
D Cory Murphy, Sr., Colgate
G Mike Walsh, So., Clarkson

All-Rookie Team

F Patrick Sharp, Vermont
F Rob McFeeters, Clarkson
F Tim Pettit, Harvard
D Jeff Dwyer, Yale
D Rob Brown, Colgate
G Nathan Marsters, Rensselaer

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

BNY Mellon Wealth Management