College Hockey:
RIT’s Wilson Named College Division Coach of the Year

Wayne Wilson, head coach of RIT, has been named the 2000-2001 Edward Jeremiah Award winner. The award, presented by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA), recognizes the National College Division Coach of the Year.

Wilson led his team to a 27-1-1 season, going undefeated throughout the season before losing to Plattsburgh in the national championship game. Wilson is in his second year as head coach of the RIT Tigers, and has amassed an overall record of 49-8-2.

The award recipient is chosen by members of the AHCA. Wilson will received the award at the annual AHCA conference held in late April in Naples, Fla.

Wilson, a Guelph, Ontario native, graduated in 1984 from Bowling Green, where
he was a standout defenseman. He spent 13 years as an assistant coach at Bowling Green before moving to the RIT head coaching position.

The runner up for this year’s award was Bob Emery, head coach of the NCAA Division III national champion Plattsburgh Cardinals.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management