College Hockey:
Wayne State is Coaches’ Choice in CHA

Last year’s surprise CHA Champions, the Wayne State Warriors, were picked to finish first by the CHA Coaches in the Preseason Poll.

The Warriors were picked by four of the six head coaches to finish first. The other two first place votes went to Alabama-Huntsville, the team picked to finish second.

The inaugural CHA Champion, Niagara, was picked to finish third and Bemidji State was picked fourth. They were followed by Findlay in fifth and Air Force in sixth.

The CHA also announced its Preseason Co-Players of the Year, naming Karlis Zirnis of Alabama-Huntsville and Brian Gornick of Air Force as the recipients.

The Preseason All-CHA Team was also announced as Zirnis and Gornick were two of the forwards, while Jason Durbin of Wayne State rounded out the group.

On defense Brant Somerville of Findlay, Clay Simmons of Bemidji State and Tyler Butler of Alabama-Huntsville were picked.

In goal Kevin Fines of Findlay and David Guerrera of Wayne State received the nods.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management