College Hockey:
Hobey Semifinalists Will be Pared to 3 Under New Format

— The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation has announced a change in the format of naming the winner of the Hobey Baker Award.

Beginning this year season, the top 10 finalists will be pared to three semifinalists, all of whom will attend the award announcement, which traditionally takes place on the off day between the national semifinals and finals of Frozen Four weekend.

Division I college hockey coaches and a vote by hockey fans (vote-for-hobey.com) will determine the top 10 finalists. Those candidates will be announced March 14 from the WCHA Final Five tournament. Then, the Hobey Baker Selection Committee and fan vote will determine the “Hobey hat trick,” as the three semifinalists are announced March 26.

The 2002 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from this group of three during the live TV broadcast of the award announcement from the NCAA Frozen Four on Friday, April 5 in St. Paul, Minn.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management