College Hockey:
Cornell Big Winner At ECAC Awards; RPI’s Cavosie POTY

— The ECAC’s year-end awards were handed out Thursday morning at the annual ECAC brunch, with Cleary Cup champion Cornell leading the way. The Big Red captured four of the individual awards and placed four players on the first two ECAC All-Star squads.

Mike Schafer receives the COTY Award from ECAC Associate Commissioner Steve Hagwell

Mike Schafer receives the COTY Award from ECAC Associate Commissioner Steve Hagwell

Mike Schafer picked up the Coach of the Year Award, guiding the Big Red to their best ECAC season and first regular-season title since 1973.

The defensive awards also went to the Big Red. Matt Underhil received the Dryden Award, captain Stephen Baby was awarded the Defensive Forward of the Year and Brian McMeekin took home the Defensive Defenseman of the Year.

The Yale Bulldogs featured the league’s Rookie of the Year as the leading rookie scorer, Chris Higgins, picked up the honors.

Marc Cavosie received POTY from John Rooney of AVAYA

Marc Cavosie received POTY from John Rooney of AVAYA

Player of the Year went to Rensselaer junior forward Marc Cavosie. Cavosie led the league in scoring this season and is also a Hobey Baker finalist.

The ECAC First Team All-Stars included two members of the Big Red and two Engineers. Along with Underhill, Cornell defenseman Doug Murray gathered First Team honors. Murray is the other ECAC representative among the Hobey Baker finalists.

Matt Murley, the second leading scorer in the ECAC, joined teammate Cavosie as a First Team All-Star. Mike Maturo of Dartmouth was the other forward on the first team while Kerry Ellis-Toddington of Clarkson was the other nod at defense.

The second team also featured two members of the Big Red as Baby and Mark McRae were named at forward and defense respectively. Higgins and Harvard forward Brett Nowak filled out the forwards. Trevor Byrne of Dartmouth was listed on defense and Yann Danis of Brown was the goaltender.

The ECAC All-Rookie team featured David LeNeveu of Cornell in goal, Noah Welch of Harvard and Randy Jones of Clarkson on defense. The forwards were Higgins, Jordan Webb of Union and Lee Stempniak of Dartmouth.

ECAC Player of the Year

Marc Cavosie, F, Jr.. Rensselaer

Cornell's award winners (l. to r. Baby, Underhill, McMeekin, Schafer)

Cornell’s award winners (l. to r. Baby, Underhill, McMeekin, Schafer)

ECAC Coach of the Year

Mike Schafer, Cornell

ECAC Rookie of the Year

Chris Higgins, Yale

ECAC Defensive Forward of the Year

Stephen Baby, Jr., Cornell

ECAC Defensive Defenseman of the Year

Brian McMeekin, Sr., Cornell

Dryden Award

Matt Underhill, Sr., Cornell

ECAC All-Rookie Team

F Chris Higgins, Yale
F Jordan Webb, Union
F Lee Stempniak, Dartmouth
D Randy Jones, Clarkson
D Noah Welch, Harvard
G David LeNeveu, Cornell

ECAC All-Stars

First Team
F Marc Cavosie, Jr., Rensselaer
F Mike Maturo, Jr., Dartmouth
F Matt Murley, Sr., Rensselaer
D Kerry Ellis-Toddington, Sr., Clarkson
D Doug Murray, Jr., Cornell
G Matt Underhill, Sr., Cornell

Second Team

F Chris Higgins, Fr., Yale
F Brett Nowak, Jr., Harvard
F Stephen Baby, Jr., Cornell
D Trevor Byrne, Jr., Dartmouth
D Mark McRae, Jr., Cornell
G Yann Danis, So., Brown

Honorable Mention

F Jamie Herrington, Sr., Dartmouth
F Dominic Moore, Jr., Harvard
D Rob Brown, So., Colgate

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management