College Hockey:
UMD’s Rooth Leads Women’s All-Americans

Minnesota-Duluth’s Maria Rooth leads the 2001-02 crop of women’s All-Americans, which includes four repeat selections from last year and sees six different squads represented on the First Team.

Rooth, a junior forward from Angelholm, Sweden, is the only repeat First-Teamer from a year ago. She is joined on the First Team by forward Brooke Whitney of Northeastern and defenseman Kerry Weiland of Wisconsin, both of whom were Second Team picks in 2000-01. Wisconsin’s Meghan Hunter, a sophomore, repeats as a Second Team pick.

The JOFA/AHCA University Division All-Americans were selected by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association.

First-Team All-Americans

F Brooke Whitney, Sr., Northeastern
F Maria Rooth, Jr., Minnesota-Duluth
F Carly Haggard, Jr., Dartmouth
D Kerry Weiland, Jr., Wisconsin
D Ronda Curtin, Jr., Minnesota
G Tania Pinelli, Sr., Niagara

Second-Team All-Americans

F Kristy Zamora, Sr., Brown
F Meghan Hunter, So., Wisconsin
F Nicole Corriero, Fr., Harvard
D Emma Laaksonen, So., Ohio State
D Kim Greene, Jr., Northeastern
G Chanda Gunn, So., Northeastern

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management