College Hockey:
Johnson, Leopold, Miller Join Team USA

— Former Wisconsin assistant Mark Johnson was named an assistant coach for Team USA for this year’s world championships, taking place April 26-May 11 in Sweden.

Among the 19 players selected to play on the team were recent Hobey Baker Award winner Jordan Leopold, defenseman for Minnesota, and last year’s Hobey winner, Michigan State goalie Ryan Miller.

The other 17 players named to the team Wednesday included former college stars such as forwards Marty Reasoner (Edmonton/Boston College), Dan Lacouture (Pittsburgh/Boston University), Chris Clark (Calgary/Clarkson), Mark Mowers (Nashville/New Hampshire), Erik Rasmussen (Buffalo/Minnesota), Joe Sacco (Washington/BU), Andy Hilbert (Providence-AHL/Michigan), Mark Murphy (Portland-AHL/RPI) and Derek Plante (Germany/Minnesota-Duluth); defensemen Mark Eaton (Nashville/Notre Dame), Chris Tamer (Atlanta/Michigan), Josh DeWolf (Cincinnati-AHL/St. Cloud State), Todd Rohloff (Washington/Miami) and Chris O’Sullivan (Swiss/BU); and goaltender Dieter Kochan (Tampa Bay/Northern Michigan).

Four more players are yet to be selected.

Johnson, who was bypassed for the recent Badgers head coaching opening in favor of Mike Eaves, has expressed interest in the vacant women’s team opening at Wisconsin.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management