College Hockey:
Eight Named Men’s Academic All-Americans

— Four Division I and four Division III men’s hockey players have been named to the 2001-02 Verizon Academic All-America Men’s At-Large Teams by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). Athletes in all varsity collegiate sports were eligible.

Clarkson’s David Evans was named to the University Division First Team. The senior forward from Sand Lake, N.Y., carried a 3.86 grade point average in Bio-Molecular Science.

Named to the University Division Third Team were Michael Boylan, a senior at Connecticut with a 3.90 GPA in Finance; Air Force senior Brian Gornick, 3.92 GPA, Operations Research; and junior Mark McRae, Cornell, with a 3.89 GPA in Pre-Med.

Matt Donskov, a sophomore at Cortland, who carried a 4.00 in Business Economics, and senior Niklas Sundberg, Plattsburgh, 3.80 GPA, Computer Science, were each named to the College Division Second Team. Shawn Knorr, a senior at St. John’s with a 3.98 GPA in Biology, and Jamie Weiss, Wentworth junior, 3.98 GPA, Management of Technology, each received College Division Third Team honors.

The Verizon Academic All-America Teams are selected by a vote of the 1,800-member CoSIDA. To be eligible, an athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve and maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 3.20 on a scale of 4.00. Sports information directors nominate eligible athletes from their schools who are named to district teams prior to being voted upon the national level.

“This group of student-athletes typifies the kind of individuals the founders had in mind when the Academic All-America program was formed in 1952,” said Dick Lipe, CoSIDA’s Academic All-America chairman. “In this, our 50th anniversary year, the members of CoSIDA are proud to play a part in this tremendous program.”

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management