College Hockey:
Leopold Named Big Ten Male Athlete of Year

After no hockey players won the honor in its first 19 years, Minnesota defenseman Jordan Leopold became the second straight to capture the Jesse Owens Award as The Big Ten Conference’s Male Athlete of the Year.

Leopold, the 2002 Hobey Baker Award winner as college hockey’s top player, follows Michigan State goalie Ryan Miller, who earned the double honor last season.

Christie Welsh, a soccer player from Penn State, received the Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Award.

Leopold led the Golden Gophers to the NCAA Championship in April, and graduated as a two-time All-American. He ended his career as the all-time leading goal scorer among defenseman in school history. In May, he was a member of the U.S. National Team which competed at the World Championships in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Leopold recently signed a two-year deal with the NHL’s Calgary Flames.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management