College Hockey:
ECAC Women’s Conference Adds Two Teams

— Union and Clarkson have been extended membership into the ECAC Division I Women’s Hockey League. Union will join the league in the 2003-04 season, while Clarkson was voted in effective with the 2004-05 campaign.

“Both schools boast rich hockey traditions and a history of academic success that will make them strong members of the league,” said ECAC Commissioner Phil Buttafuoco. “In addition, the inclusion of the two programs will open new opportunities for the existing members as the women’s league becomes more compatible with the men’s league.”

Current league members include Brown, Colgate, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, St. Lawrence, Vermont, and Yale.

Union is in its fourth season of varsity competition where it has competed as a member of the ECAC Division III East Women’s League. In 2001-02, the Dutchwomen finished in sixth place with a record of 8-9-1 in conference play and 8-16-2 overall. Coach Fred Quistgard has guided the program since its inception.

Clarkson announced its women’s hockey program in September, and will begin competition as an independent in 2003-04 against a mixture of Division I and III teams. Rick Seeley, previously the women’s coach at Manhattanville, was appointed Clarkson’s first women’s coach.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management