College Hockey:
Indiana’s Brand Takes Over NCAA

— Indiana University president Myles Brand has been the named the fourth president of the NCAA. The appointment is effective Jan. 1, 2003.

Brand, who received a five-year contract, replaces Cedric Dempsey, who announced his retirement last January after right years at the helm. Brand was a unanimous selection of the NCAA executive committee, which includes other college presidents.

“President-elect Brand in every way continues the high standards of leadership
and integrity that have charachterized the first three executive directors of
presidents of the NCAA,” said committee chairman Robert Lawless.

Brand, 60, has been Indiana president since 1994, and is CEO of the Big Ten Conference. He was also president at Oregon from 1989-94.

Brand earned a doctorate in philosphy at the University of Rochester in 1967. He has held administrative positions at Pittsburgh, Illinois-Chicago, Arizona and Ohio State.

There were originally 118 candidates to replace Dempsey, before the list was whittled to 11 interviewees.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management