College Hockey:
Higgins Leads List of 17 Collegians on U.S. Junior Team

— Repeat selection Chris Higgins of Yale leads a list of 22 players picked for the U.S. National Junior Team, which will compete in the International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship in Nova Scotia, Canada, Dec. 26-Jan. 5. Of the 22 players, 17 play for U.S. colleges.

Last year, Higgins — then a freshman — led Team USA in scoring with four goals and two assists, as the U.S. had the tournament’s best record despite finishing without a medal.

The U.S. team includes six players who have previously competed in the World Junior Championship and nine who won a gold medal in May with the U.S. National Under-18 Team at the 2002 IIHF World Under-18 Championship in Slovakia. Tim Gleason, a forward from Livonia, Mich., who plays for Windsor of the Ontario Hockey League, will be participating in his third World Junior tournament.

Higgins, a first-round pick of the Montreal Canadiens, is one of 10 NHL drafted players on the team.

The team is led by Lou Vairo, who coached the 1984 men’s Olympic team. Former Wisconsin coach Jeff Sauer, Mike Hastings and Ron Rolston are the assistants.

The roster, with hometown and college team in parentheses:

Dustin Brown, Ithaca, N.Y.
Patrick Eaves, Fairbault, Minn. (Boston College)
Gino Guyer, Coleraine, Minn. (Minnesota)
Dwight Helminen, Brighton, Mich. (Michigan)
Chris Higgins, Smithtown, N.Y. (Yale)
Ryan Kesler, Livonia, Mich. (Ohio State)
Greg Moore, Lisbon, Maine (Maine)
Eric Nystrom, Syosset, N.Y. (Michigan)
Patrick O’Sullivan, Sterling Heights, Mich.
Zach Parise, Fairbault, Minn. (North Dakota)
Ryan Shannon, Darien, Conn. (Boston College)
Brett Sterling, Pasadena, Calif. (Colorado College)
Barry Tallackson, St. Paul., Minn. (Minnesota)

Tim Gleason, Clawson, Mich.
Matt Greene, Grand Ledge, Mich. (North Dakota)
Matt Jones, Naperville, Ill. (North Dakota)
Mark Stuart, Rochester, Minn. (Colorado College)
Ryan Suter, Madison, Wis.
Ryan Whitney, Scituate, Mass. (Boston University)
James Wisniewski, Canton, Mich.

Jim Howard, Ogdensburg, N.Y. (Maine)
Bob Goepfert, Kings Park, N.Y. (Providence)

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management