College Hockey:
Botterill Earns Fourth All-America Designation

— Saturday, Harvard’s Jennifer Botterill became the first player in women’s hockey history to be so selected as a first-team All-American four times.

In all, the four teams participating in the Frozen Four totaled nine selections to the first and second teams. Besides Botterill, Harvard placed defenseman Angela Ruggiero on the first team, and freshman Julie Chu on the second. Ruggiero, a junior, has been named to the first team three times, and will look to replicate Botterill’s four selections next year.

Minnesota also had three players selected, with defenseman Ronda Curtin and forward Natalie Darwitz named first-teamers, and Olympian Krissy Wendell named to the second team. Minnesota-Duluth had a pair of forwards on the list with Jenny Potter on the first team and Maria Rooth on the second, earning her third consecutive nod. Dartmouth placed defenseman Correne Bredin on the second team.

Other honorees included New Hampshire goaltender Jen Huggon, and defenseman Kelly Halcisak from the Hockey East champion, Providence.

St. Lawrence goaltender Rachel Barrie earned second-team honors, which brings the ECAC total to five players. The WCHA also had five players, and Hockey East had two.

First Team

Jen Huggon, SR, New Hampshire (Plymouth, MA), G
Ronda Curtin, SR, Minnesota# (Roseville, MN), D
Angela Ruggiero, JR, Harvard** (Harper Woods, MI), D
Jennifer Botterill, SR, Harvard* (Winnipeg, MB), F
Natalie Darwitz, FR, Minnesota (Eagan, MN), F
Jenny Potter, JR, Minnesota-Duluth@@ (Edina, MN), F

Second Team

Rachel Barrie, JR, St. Lawrence@ (Arnprior, ON), G
Correne Bredin, SR, Dartmouth# (Warburg, AB), D
Kelli Halcisak, JR, Providence (Grosse Ile, MI), D
Julie Chu, FR, Harvard (Fairfield, CT), F
Maria Rooth, SR, Minnesota-Duluth*** (Angelholm, Sweden), F
Krissy Wendell, FR, Minnesota (Brooklyn Park, MN), F

* Fourth First Team Selection
** Third First Team Selection
*** First Team in 2001-01 and 2001-02
# First Team in 2000-01
@ Second Team in 2000-01
@@ Second Team in 1998-99

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management