College Hockey:
Bowdoin’s Amidon Named Women’s D-III Coach of Year

Michele Amidon of Bowdoin has been named women’s Division III Coach of the Year by the American Hockey Coaches Association.

Amidon led Bowdoin to a 23-2-3 record and third place at the NCAA championship after completing the NESCAC regular season undefeated.

A 1994 graduate of St. Lawrence, Amidon was a three-time team MVP and an All-ECAC pick. She came to Bowdoin in 1997 and has compiled a record of 103-38-10 in six seasons.

She became just the third women’s Division III coach to reach the 100-win mark on February 22, with a 3-2 victory over Williams.

The runner-up was Jamie Wood of Elmira, the 2002 winner.

The AHCA’s awards banquet will be held April 26, in conjunction with the organization’s annual convention in Naples, Fla.

Past winners of the award include:

2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management