College Hockey:
UMD’s Miller Named Women’s Coach Of Year

On Wednesday, Minnesota-Duluth’s Shannon Miller was named Coach of the Year in women’s Division I by the American Hockey Coaches Association.

Miller, a native of Melfort, Sask., led UMD to a third straight NCAA title, winning the championship with a 4-3 double-overtime victory against Harvard before a crowd of 5,000-plus in Duluth. For the season, the Bulldogs went 31-3-2.

Miller has compiled a career record of 108-19-13 in four years at Minnesota-Duluth. Her winning percentage of .818 is the best all-time among NCAA women’s coaches. She will be honored by the AHCA at the annual coaches’ convention in Naples, Fla., on April 26.

The runner-up was Brian McCloskey, the first-year coach of New Hampshire.

Past winners of the award are as follows:

1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management