College Hockey:
Daniels Wins Penrose Award

Ferris State coach Bob Daniels won his first-ever Penrose Award as the American Hockey Coaches Association Coach of the Year for 2003.



Daniels, who guided the Bulldogs to their first-ever CCHA regular-season title and NCAA tournament berth, edged out Cornell coach Mike Schafer and Minnesota coach Don Lucia for the honor.

Ferris State finished 31-10-1 this season, losing in the CCHA tournament final to Michigan. The Bulldogs won their first-ever NCAA game, against North Dakota, then lost in the second round to eventual-champion Minnesota.

Daniels was a three-time Coach of the Year in the North American Junior Hockey League before becoming a college assistant coach. He coached at Illinois-Chicago and Ferris State, before taking over as Bulldogs head coach in 1992-93.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management