College Hockey:
Team USA Roster Set for World Juniors

Twenty-two players who will represent the United States at the World Under-20 Junior Championships was named today. The tournament takes place in Finland beginning Dec. 26.

Last year, the United States finished fourth. The team will once again be coached by current Wisconsin coach Mike Eaves, the former lead coach at the U.S. National Team Development Program in Ann Arbor, Mich.

The team includes three players currently in the NHL — Dustin Brown, Danny Fritsche and Ryan Kesler, both of whom were first-round draft picks last June. Brown, a native of Ithaca, N.Y., played major junior hockey and now is with the Los Angeles Kings. Kesler played at Ohio State for one season before signing with the Vancouver Canucks. Fritsche is with Columbus.

Three players, James Wisniewski, Danny Richmond and Patrick O’Sullivan, currently compete in major junior. The remaining 16 players are current at U.S. colleges.


*-repeat selection. Current college team, if any, in parentheses.

David Booth (Michigan State)
Dustin Brown-*
Jake Dowell (Wisconsin)
Patrick Eaves (BC)
Danny Fritsche
Ryan Kesler-*
Greg Moore-* (Maine)
Brady Murray (North Dakota)
Patrick O’Sullivan-*
Zach Parise-* (North Dakota)
Brett Sterling-* (CC)
Stephen Werner (Massachusetts)

Matt Carle (Denver)
Jeff Likens (Wisconsin)
Corey Potter (Michigan St.)
Dylan Reese (Harvard)
Danny Richmond
Mark Stuart-* (CC)
Ryan Suter-* (Wisconsin)
James Wisniewski-*

Jimmy Howard-* (Maine)
Alvaro Montoya (Michigan)

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management