College Hockey:
Women’s Division I All-Americans Announced

Harvard's Ruggiero First Team for Fourth Time

— Five players from teams involved in the women’s Frozen Four in Providence, R.I., were named All-Americans, along with eight other student athletes, as chosen by the American Hockey Coaches Association.

Harvard’s Angela Ruggiero, a four-time First Team All-American with this selection, is also nominated for the Patty Kazmaier Award. Ruggiero’s teammate, forward Nicole Corriero, received Second Team honors for the second year in a row. Ruggiero becomes the second player to receive four consecutive First Team nominations, following her teammate from last year, Jennifer Botterill.

Minnesota also posted two All-Americans, with sophomore forward Krissy Wendell, a Second Team selection last year, earning First Team honors this year while fellow sophomore forward Natalie Darwitz, a First Team honoree last year, is on the Second Team.

St. Lawrence forward Gina Kingsbury, who is not playing in the Frozen Four because of a conflict with the Canadian National Team, was named to the Second Team.

Also on the first team is Chanda Gunn, a goalie from Northeastern, and Jenny Potter of Minnesota-Duluth. Both join Ruggiero as the three finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Award.

Rounding out the First Team is defenseman Kelli Halcisak of Providence and forward Caroline Ouellette from Minnesota-Duluth.

Other Second Team selections are Shari Vogt, netminder for Minnesota State, Mankato, defenseman Carla MacLeod of Wisconsin, and defender Julianne Vasichek of Minnesota-Duluth.

Minnesota-Duluth led all schools with three selections, while Harvard and Minnesota each had two.

First Team

Chanda Gunn, G, Sr., Northeastern
Kelli Halcisak, D, Sr., Providence
Angela Ruggiero, D, Sr., Harvard
Caroline Ouellette, F, Sr., Minnesota-Duluth
Jenny Potter, F, Sr., Minnesota-Duluth
Krissy Wendell, F, So., Minnesota

Second Team

Shari Vogt, G, Sr., Minnesota State
Carla MacLeod, D, Jr., Wisconsin
Julianne Vasichek, D, Jr., Minnesota-Duluth
Nicole Corriero, F, Jr., Harvard
Natalie Darwitz, F, So., Minnesota
Gina Kingsbury, F, Sr., St. Lawrence

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management