College Hockey:
Early Departures

Running list of Division I men’s players who have left school before graduating, since the end of the 2003-04 season. “Yr.” indicates the player’s most recent season.

School       Player      Yr.  Status
Alaska-Anchorage  Curtis Glencross So.  signed with Anaheim (NHL)
Alaska-Anchorage  Chris Fournier  So.  academically ineligible, left school
Alaska-Fairbanks  Aaron Voros   Jr.  signed with New Jersey (NHL)
Boston University  Ryan Whitney   Jr.  signed with Pittsburgh (NHL)
Clarkson      Matt Nickerson  Fr.  signed with Dallas (NHL)
Massachusetts    Greg Mauldin   Jr.  signed with Columbus (NHL)
Maine        Luc Aquino    Fr.  left team for major junior
Maine        Dustin Penner  Jr.  signed with Anaheim (NHL)
Michigan      Dwight Helminen Jr.  signed with New York Rangers (NHL)
Michigan State   Lee Falardeau  Jr.  signed with New York Rangers (NHL)
Michigan State   Brock Radunske  Jr.  signed with Edmonton (NHL)
Minnesota      Keith Ballard  Jr.  signed with Phoenix (NHL)
Minnesota      Jake Taylor   Fr.  signed with New York Rangers (NHL)
Minnesota      Thomas Vanek   So.  signed with Buffalo (NHL)
New Hampshire    Ed Caron     So.  signed with Edmonton (NHL)
North Dakota    Brandon BochenskiJr.  signed with Ottawa (NHL)
North Dakota    Zach Parise   So.  signed with New Jersey (NHL)
North Dakota    Nate Ziegelmann Fr.  left school with the purpose of transferring
St. Cloud State   Tim Conboy    So.  cut from team, signed with San Jose (NHL)
St. Cloud State   Adam Coole    Jr.  graduated, foregoing senior year of eligibility
St. Cloud State   Garrett Larson  Jr.  released from team
Union        Bryan Campbell  So.  left team to concentrate on academics
Union        Tim Roth     So.  left team
Union        Max Seel     Jr.  left team to concentrate on academics
Union        Brent Williams  Jr.  left team
Western Michigan  Jeremy Cheyne  Jr.  lost eligibility, signed with Greenville (ECHL)
Wisconsin      Tom Sawatske   So.  left team for juniors
Wisconsin      Ryan Suter    Fr.  signed with Nashville (NHL)
Yale        Joe Callahan   Jr.  signed with Phoenix (NHL)

Players to Watch

Prominent underclassmen USCHO is keeping an eye on to see if they turn pro. Year listed is one just completed.

School       Player      Yr.  Status
Maine        Jimmy Howard   So.  Drafted -- Detroit, 2nd (64th), 2003


Players who have transferred this offseason, and will therefore be eligible in Sept. 2005 (Findlay players are immediately eligible due to that school dropping its program).

Name            To          From
Mike Batavanja       Michigan Tech    Findlay
J.R. Bria          Mass.-Lowell     Colgate
Scott Drewicki-*      Merrimack      Denver
Jeremy Hall-*        Mass.-Lowell     Niagara
Will Hooper         Wayne State     Findlay
Jon Horrell         Bowling Green    Findlay
Bobby Goepfert       St. Cloud State   Providence
Ray Jean          Bentley       Maine
Kenny Macaulay       Vermont       Findlay
Larry Sterling       Minnesota State   Findlay
Brandon Straub       Colorado College   Findlay
Kris Wiebe         Niagara       Findlay
Kurt Wright         Robert Morris    Findlay
*-Eligible spring 2005

Coaching Changes

School       New Coach      Old Coach       Reason for Departure
Alaska-Fairbanks  Tavis MacMillan   Guy Gadowsky     Left for Princeton
Army        Brian Riley     Rob Riley       Retired
Harvard      Ted Donato     Mark Mazzoleni    Left for Green Bay (USHL)
North Dakota    Dave Hakstol    Dean Blais      Left for Columbus (NHL)
Princeton     Guy Gadowsky    Len Quesnelle     Fired

Babson       Jamie Rice     Paul Donato      Retired
Hamline      Chris Brown     Pat Cullen      Resigned
Marian       Jasen Wise     Chris Brown      Left for Hamline
Neumann      Dennis Williams   Nick Russo      Resigned
Nichols      Lou Izzi      Mark Jago       Resigned
St. Scholastica            Cory Borys      Resigned
Wentworth     Jonathan Deptula  Bill Bowes      Resigned   

Bowdoin      Michele Amidon   Kevin McGonagle    Left for Robert Morris (was interim at Bowdoin)
Colby       Dave Venditti    Jen Holsten      Resigned (now assistant coach)    
Maine       Guy Perron     Rick Filighera    Fired
Mass.-Boston              Laura Schuler     Left for Northeastern
Northeastern    Laura Schuler    Joy Woog       Resigned
Robert Morris   Kevin McGonagle   None         New Program
Southern Maine   Amanda Adams    Dave Venditti     Left for Colby
St. Olaf                Tom Osiecki      Resigned
Union       Tim Gerrish     Fred Quistgard    Resigned

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

Comments are closed.