College Hockey:
Commissioners’ Cup Series Unveiled

College hockey’s unmatched cooperation between its six Division I conferences has taken another form.

Commissioners from the nation’s six conferences have announced the creation of a 21-game series to be played among the conferences throughout the 2004-2005 season. The first annual Commissioners’ Cup Series faces off with five games on Saturday, Oct. 23 and concludes in late January. Each conference participates in seven designated contests, each league playing three home games, three away, and one at a neutral site.

No games have been added to anyone’s existing schedule. The Commissioners’ Cup series was created out of games already scheduled.

Commissioners’ Cup standings will be maintained with two points awarded for each victory and a point for a tie. The conference which amasses the most points through its seven games will be presented with the Commissioners’ Cup at its conference championship weekend.

“This is an opportunity to create a little added excitement to regular season games for the fans,” said Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna. “We have tried to choose games that collectively give every league a fair shot at this particular title. And I think we have accomplished that.”

Only three schools appear on the schedule more than once as 39 of the nation’s 59 Division I ice hockey institutions will participate in the series.

“It was important to us that we spread participation beyond perennial national powers,” said Bertagna. “We have done that while also including some of our nationally-ranked programs as well.”

Three of the games will be broadcast live on College Sports Television (CSTV). Those contests are: Friday, Oct. 29: North Dakota at Boston College (8 p.m.) Monday, Jan. 3: Minnesota at Boston University (7 p.m.) Friday, Jan. 21: Wisconsin at Notre Dame (8 p.m.)

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management