College Hockey:
Humanitarian Nominees Named

— The Hockey Humanitarian Award committee recently named its 15 nominees for this year’s honor. Both men’s and women’s players in all NCAA Divisions are eligibile.

The nominees are:

Janelle Armitage – Connecticut
Sarah Carlson – Boston College
Bo Cheesman – Lake Superior State
Desi Clark – Mercyhurst
Jessica Clermont – Niagara
Kamerie Ann Cote – Vermont
Cam Ellsworth – Michigan Tech.
Gillian Gallagher – Quinnipiac
Steven Johns – Minnesota State
Eric Leroux – Princeton
Drew Miller – Michigan State
John Ostapyk – Dartmouth
Mark Persick – Canisius
Jared Ross – Alabama-Huntsville
Peter Trovato – Massachusetts

Last year’s winner was Chanda Gunn of Northeastern.

Finalists for the award will be announced Wednesday, Jan. 12 on the award website, www.hockeyhumanitarian.org. The 10th recipient of the Hockey Humanitarian Award will be selected from the group of finalists and named in a ceremony held in conjunction with the Hobey Baker Memorial
Award on Friday, April 8th in Columbus, Ohio during the 2005 NCAA Frozen Four.

More information on the history of the award, the 2005 schedule of events and a list of past nominees, finalists and recipients can be found at www.hockeyhumanitarian.org.

The Hockey Humanitarian Award annually honors “college hockey’s finest citizen and seeks to recognize college hockey players, Division I or Division III, male or female, who give back to their community in the true humanitarian spirit.”

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management