College Hockey:
Women’s D-III NCAA Field Announced

The NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Committee has announced the seven teams selected for the 2005 NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship.

Of the seven teams selected, four of the teams received automatic qualification as winners of their conference championships. One school was selected from Pool B, which are independent schools and schools from conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final two schools are from Pool C, which are schools from automatic-qualifying conferences that were not the conference champion and the remaining schools from Pool B.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification:

ECAC East — Manhattanville
ECAC West — Elmira
MIAC — Gustavus Adolphus
NESCAC — Middlebury

Wisc.-Stevens Point received the Pool B bid.

Plattsburgh and Bowdoin received the Pool C bids.

In the first-round games, Bowdoin will visit Plattsburgh, Manhattanville will visit Middlebury, and Gustavus Adolphus will visit Wisc.-Stevens Point. Three first-round games will be played at campus sites March 11, 12 or 13. Dates and times for these games will be announced Monday.

The semifinals and finals will be held on March 18 and 19 at Elmira, who earned the first-round bye. Elmira won the first two NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championships in 2002 and 2003. Middlebury is the defending champion.

A complete bracket can be found here.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management