College Hockey:
Buttafuoco Resigns From ECAC

— Phil Buttafuoco has resigned his position as the Commissioner of the ECAC. His tenure at the ECAC started on July 1, 1998 as he came from the NCAA.

His tenure at the ECAC saw the creation of the ECAC Men’s Division I lacrosse league in 1999. It also saw the Men’s and Women’s Division I ice hockey leagues leave the organizational structure of the ECAC in 2004. The ice hockey leagues now operate as the ECAC Hockey League with Steve Hagwell as its commissioner.

The ECAC still administers the Division III ice hockey leagues for the ECAC East, West and Northeast for the men and the ECAC East and West for the women.

A search for a new commissioner will begin immediately.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management