College Hockey:
Women’s D-III NCAA Pairings Announced

The NCAA Division III Women’s Championship field was announced on Sunday with three teams chosen from the West Region and four from the East Region.

The four automatic bids were given to:


ECAC East: Manhattanville (23-3-1)
ECAC West: Plattsburgh (24-2-1)
NESCAC: Middlebury (24-2-0)
MIAC: Gustavus Adolphus (22-3-2)

The lone Pool B bid was given to the NCHA tournament champion Wisconsin-Stevens Point (19-4-4).

The two Pool C bids were given to Wisconsin-Superior (22-3-2) and Elmira

In a surprise move, the bye to the semifinal round of the tournament was awarded to Gustavus Adolphus, No. 4 in the latest USCHO.com poll and No. 3 in the National Pairwise Rankings. The Gutsies will host the winner of the Manhattanville-Middlebury quarterfinal.

The other half of the bracket has Wisc.-Stevens Point hosting Wisc.-Superior and Plattsburgh hosting Elmira.

The site for the Frozen Four has yet to be determined.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management