College Hockey:
BU, BC Dominate Hockey East Awards

— Of the ten major awards in Hockey East, Boston College and Boston University picked up eight of those awards.

The conference leading Terriers of Boston University picked up the Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year and Best Defensive Forward Awards. Boston College picked up the Player of the Year, Scoring Champion, Goaltending Champion, “Three Stars” Award and Best Defensive Defenseman Awards.

The Player of the Year went to BC’s Chris Collins. Collins tied for the Hockey East lead in goals and led the league in total points. Collins was also named a Hobey Baker Top Ten Finalist. He also picked up the Scoring Champion award. His teammate Cory Schneider was the Goaltending Champion with a 1.96GAA on the season. The two shared the “Three Stars” Award.

The Rookie of the Year was awarded to Boston University’s Brandon Yip. He finished his debut season with 19 total points.

Jack Paker picked up the Coach of the Year Award. This is his fifth time winning the trophy and second consecutive award. He was a unanimous pick for the award.

Peter Harrold of BC was named the Best Defensive Defenseman, while Brad Zancanaro of BU was named the Best Defensive Forward.

The two awards not won by BC or BU were the Sportsmanship Award and the Team Sportsmanship Award. Danny O’Brien of Mass.-Lowell won the individual award, while first-year Hockey East member Vermont won the team award.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management