College Hockey:
Parse Named POTY, Greene Doubles Up At CCHA Awards

— Scott Parse of Nebraska-Omaha won the Player of the Year Award and Andy Greene of Miami took home double honors at the CCHA Awards banquet. Greene did the double as he won both the Best Offensive and Defensive Defenseman Awards.

Parse has 61 points on the season, setting a record for most points by a Nebraska-Omaha player. He was also named a Hobey Baker Finalist earlier in the day.

Greene was fourth amongst defensemen in scoring in the CCHA with 27 points (9-18–27). He also anchored the Miami defense, which gave up just 1.91 goals per game.

The 3-D Glasses come out for the viewing of the CCHA Awards Video at the CCHA Banquet.

The 3-D Glasses come out for the viewing of the CCHA Awards Video at the CCHA Banquet.

Michigan State goaltender Jeff Lerg was named the Roookie of the Year in the CCHA, as he ranked second in the league with a .926 save percentage and a 2.03 GAA.

Enrico Blasi was named the Coach of the Year after guiding his Miami team to the regular season CCHA Championship. The RedHawks ran away with the title and have consistently been one of the top teams in the nation this year.

Steve McJannet of Lake Superior won the Terry Flanagan Memorial Award in recognition of his perseverance, dedication and courage in his battle with Crohn’s disease.

The Ilitch Humanitarian Award was presented to Drew Miller of Michigan State. Miller has contributed in many ways to his community and is also one of the finalists for the Hockey Humanitarian Award.

Nebraska-Omaha’s Michael Eichman was honored with the Scholar-Athlete Award. The junior defenseman is a psychology major. This award was presented for the second time, as it was won by Cory McLean of Notre Dame in it’s first awarding last year.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management