College Hockey:
Eleven Coaches Named Spencer Penrose Finalists

Eleven coaches — including four past winners — were named Thursday by the American Hockey Coaches Association as finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given to the Division I men’s national coach of the year.

To be a Penrose finalist, a coach must have been named Coach of the Year in his own conference or have taken his team to the Frozen Four this season.

Former Penrose winners in the mix including Don Lucia of Minnesota (1994 winner while at Colorado College), Jack Parker of Boston University (1975 and 1978 winner), Jerry York of Boston College (1977 winner), and Tim Whitehead of Maine (2002 winner).

Four WCHA coaches were among the 11 finalists: two participants in the Frozen Four (Mike Eaves of Wisconsin and Dave Hakstol of North Dakota) and WCHA co-Coaches of the Year Don Lucia of Minnesota and Bob Motzko of St. Cloud.

The award, which is named in honor of the former Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA hockey championships, will be presented at the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Coach of the Year Banquet on Saturday, April 29, in Naples, Fla.

2005-2006 Spencer Penrose Award Finalists

Enrico Blasi, Miami*
Dave Burkholder, Niagara*
Mike Eaves, Wisconsin#
Bob Gaudet, Dartmouth*
Dave Hakstol, North Dakota#
Don Lucia, Minnesota*@
Bob Motzko, St. Cloud State*
Jack Parker, Boston University*@
Brian Riley, Army*
Tim Whitehead, Maine#@
Jerry York, Boston College#@

* Conference Coach of the Year
# NCAA Frozen Four Participant
@ Past Winner

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management