College Hockey:
Women’s Commissioners’ Cup Inaugurated

— Commissioners from the nation’s four Division I women’s ice hockey conferences have announced a 24-game series to be played among the conferences throughout the 2006-2007 season. The first annual Women’s Commissioners’ Cup Series faces off with the University of New Hampshire visiting the University of Minnesota on Saturday, Oct. 7.

Each conference participates in 12 designated contests, each league playing six home games and six away games. Commissioners’ Cup standings will be maintained with two points awarded for each victory and a point for a tie. The conference who amasses the most points through its 12 games will be presented with the Commissioners’ Cup at its conference championship weekend.

“This is a little late in coming together but we are happy to provide the women with this opportunity,” said Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna. “There are some pretty big games in this schedule matching nationally ranked teams.”

The 24-game schedule includes 30 of the 32 schools who participate in the four Division I women’s ice hockey conferences. All ten schools currently ranked nationally are included and there are six games matching those ten powerhouses.

A men’s D-I Commissioners’ Cup is in its third season; the previous two were won by the ECACHL.

Commisioners’ Cup Schedule


Saturday, Oct. 7
New Hampshire (Hockey East) at Minnesota (WCHA)

Friday, Oct. 20
Wayne State (CHA) at Rensselaer (ECACHL)

Saturday, Oct. 21
Niagara (CHA) at Cornell (ECACHL)
Yale (ECACHL) at Boston College (Hockey East)

Sunday, Oct. 22
Dartmouth (ECACHL) at Mercyhurst (CHA)
Friday, Oct. 27
Niagara (CHA) at Bemidji State (WCHA)


Friday, Nov. 3
North Dakota (WCHA) at Maine (Hockey East)
St. Cloud (WCHA) at Vermont (Hockey East)

Saturday, Nov. 4
Northeastern (Hockey East) at Niagara (CHA)
Connecticut (Hockey East) at Ohio State (WCHA)

Thursday, Nov. 9
Brown (ECACHL) at Boston College (Hockey East)

Friday, Nov. 10
Robert Morris (CHA) at Clarkson (ECACHL)

Saturday, Nov. 11
Minnesota State (WCHA) at Wayne State (CHA)

Friday, Nov. 17
Merychurst (CHA) at St. Lawrence (ECACHL)

Saturday, Nov. 18
Robert Morris (CHA) at Vermont (Hockey East)


Friday, Dec. 1
Princeton (ECACHL) at Merychurst (CHA)

Saturday, Dec. 2
Minnesota-Duluth (WCHA) at Harvard (ECACHL)
North Dakota (WCHA) at Niagara (CHA)

Sunday, Dec. 3
Quinnipiac (ECACHL) at Robert Morris (CHA)

Sunday, Dec. 10
Dartmouth (ECACHL) at New Hampshire (Hockey East)

Sunday, Dec. 31
Vermont (Hockey East) at Minnesota State (WCHA)
Ohio State (WCHA) at Princeton (ECACHL)


Saturday, Jan. 6
Boston University (Hockey East) at St. Cloud State (WCHA)

Saturday, Jan. 13
Providence (Hockey East) at Wisconsin (WCHA)

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management