College Hockey:
Early Departures

Running list of Division I men’s players who have left school before graduating, since the end of the 2006-07 season. “Yr.” indicates the player’s most recent season.

School       Player      Yr.  Status
Alaska       Darcy Campbell     Jr.  Signed with Columbus (NHL)
Alaska       Kyle Greentree     Jr.  Signed with Philadelphia (NHL)
Alaska-Anchorage  Jay Beagle       So.  Signed with Idaho (ECHL)
Bowling Green    Jonathan Matsumoto   Jr.  Signed with Philadelphia (NHL)
Clarkson      Shawn Weller      Jr.  Signed with Ottawa (NHL)
Denver       Ryan Dingle      Jr.  Signed with Anaheim (NHL)
Massachusetts    Jon Quick       So.  Signed with Los Angeles (NHL)
Michigan      Jack Johnson      So.  Signed with Los Angeles (NHL)
Minn.-Duluth    Matt Niskanen     So.  Signed with Dallas (NHL)
Minn.-Duluth    Mason Raymond     So.  Signed with Vancouver (NHL)
Minnesota State   Steve Wagner      Jr.  Signed with St. Louis (NHL)
New Hampshire    Trevor Smith      So.  Signed with New York Islanders (NHL)
RIT         Steve Pinizzotto    Jr.  Signed with Washington (NHL)
St. Cloud      Andrew Gordon     Jr.  Signed with Washington (NHL)
Union        T.J. Fox        So.  Signed with San Jose (NHL)
Vermont       Torrey Mitchell    Jr.  Signed with San Jose (NHL)
Western Michigan  Mark Letestu      Fr.  Signed with Pittsburgh (NHL)
Wisconsin      Joe Piskula      Jr.  Signed with Los Angeles (NHL)
Wisconsin      Jack Skille      So.  Signed with Chicago (NHL)


Players who have transferred, and will therefore be eligible in Sept. 2008

Name            To          From
Dustin Molle*        Alaska        Alaska-Anchorage
Eric Walsky*         Colorado College   Alaska-Anchorage
Carter Lee*         Lake Superior    Northeastern
Matt Lundin*         Mercyhurst      Maine
Grant Farrell*        Merrimack      Mass.-Lowell
Shea Hamilton*        North Dakota     Alaska-Anchorage
Billy Smith*         Northern Michigan  Alaska-Anchorage
Wes Russell*         Robert Morris    Quinnipiac
Chris Hepp          St. Cloud      Air Force
Brent Borgen*        St. Cloud      Minnesota
* -eligible Sept. 07
**-eligible Dec. 07

Coaching Changes

School       New Coach      Old Coach       Reason for Departure
Alaska                  Tavis MacMillan   Resigned

Bethel       Joel Johnson     Peter Aus      Retired
Cortland                 Tom Cranfield    Promoted to Asst. AD
Potsdam       Aaron Saul      Glenn Thomaris    Retired
St. Michael's    Chris Davidson    Lou DiMasi      Retired
Southern NH     Ken Hutchins     Rene Leclerc     Resigned

Manhattanville   Lauren McAuliffe   Nicole Hall     Resigned
New England College           Eddie Ardito     Interim Coach
North Dakota    Brian Idlaski    Dennis Miller    Interim Coach
Potsdam       Jay Green                 Inaugural Program

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

Comments are closed.