College Hockey:
NHL Draft 2008

June 20

OTTAWA, Ont. — The following college players or recruits were chosen in the National Hockey League’s 2008 entry draft:

(I) = Incoming Recruit
(*) = No Longer With Team

Round One

Pick NHL Team        Name, Pos         School (Conference)
  7 Nashville       Colin Wilson, F      Boston University (HEA)
 16 Boston         Joe Colborne, F (I)    Denver (WCHA)
 17 Anaheim        Jake Gardiner, D (I)    Wisconsin (WCHA)
 29 Atlanta        Daultan Leveille, F (I)  Michigan State (CCHA)

Round Two

Pick NHL Team        Name, Pos         School (Conference)
 36 New York Islanders   Corey Trivino, F (I)    Boston University (HEA)
 37 Columbus        Cody Goloubef, D      Wisconsin (WCHA)
 40 New York Islanders   Aaron Ness, D (I)     Minnesota (WCHA)
 42 Ottawa         Patrick Wiercioch, D (I)  Wisconsin (WCHA)
 43 Anaheim        Justin Schultz, D (I '09) Wisconsin (WCHA)
 45 Carolina        Zac Dalpe, F (I)      Ohio State (CCHA)
 51 New York Rangers    Derek Stepan, F (I)    Wisconsin (WCHA)
 52 New Jersey       Brandon Burlon, D (I)   Michigan (CCHA)
 56 Montreal        Danny Kristo, F (I '09)  North Dakota (WCHA)
 60 Toronto        Jimmy Hayes, F (I)     Boston College (HEA)

Round Three

Pick NHL Team        Name, Pos         School (Conference)
 62 San Jose        Justin Daniels, F (I '09) Northeastern (HEA)
 63 Los Angeles      Robbie Czarnik, F (I)   Michigan (CCHA)
 66 New York Islanders   David Toews, F (I)     North Dakota (WCHA)
 81 Buffalo        Cory Fienhage, D (I)    North Dakota (WCHA)
 86 Montreal        Steve Qualier, F (I)    Northeastern (HEA)
 89 Dallas         Scott Winkler, F (I '09)  Colorado College (WCHA)
 91 Detroit        Max Nicastro, D (I '09)  Boston University (HEA)

Round Four

Pick NHL Team        Name, Pos         School (Conference)
 94 Atlanta        Vinny Saponari, F (I)   Boston University (HEA)
 95 St. Louis       David Warsofsky, D (I)   Boston University (HEA)
 96 New York Islanders   Matt Donovan, D (I '09)  Denver (WCHA)
 101 Buffalo        Justin Jokinen, F (I)   Minnesota State (WCHA)
 106 Calgary        Nicholas Larson, F (I '09) Notre Dame (CCHA)
 113 Anaheim        Ryan Hegarty, D (I)    Maine (HEA)
 115 Minnesota       Sean Lorenz, D (I)     Notre Dame (CCHA)
 118 Columbus        Drew Olson, D (I '09)   Minn.-Duluth (WCHA)
 119 Ottawa         Derek Grant, F (I '09)   Michigan State (CCHA)
 121 Detroit        Gustav Nyquist, F (I)   Maine (HEA)

Round Five

Pick NHL Team        Name, Pos         School (Conference)
 128 Toronto        Greg Pateryn, D (I)    Michigan (CCHA)
 136 Nashville       Taylor Stefishen, F (I)  Ohio State (CCHA)
 139 Ottawa         Mark Borowiecki, D (I)   Clarkson (ECAC)
 140 Colorado        Mark Olver, F       Northern Michigan (CCHA)
 151 Detroit        Julien Cayer, F (I)    Clarkson (ECAC)

Round Six

Pick NHL Team        Name, Pos         School (Conference)
 157 Columbus        Cam Atkinson, F (I)    Boston College (HEA)
 158 Toronto        Grant Rollheiser, G (I)  Boston University (HEA)
 159 Phoenix        Brett Hextall, F (I)    North Dakota (WCHA)
 160 Tampa Bay       Luke Witkoswki, D (I '09) Western Michigan (CCHA)
 166 Nashville       Jeff Foss, D        Rensselaer (ECAC)
 169 Chicago        Ben Smith, F        Boston College (HEA)
 172 New Jersey       David Wohlberg, F (I)   Michigan (CCHA)
 173 Boston         Nick Tremblay, F (I)    Clarkson (ECAC)
 174 Washington       Greg Burke, F (I '09)   New Hampshire (HEA)
 177 San Jose        Tommy Wingels, F      Miami (CCHA)    
 179 Chicago        Braden Birch, D (I)    Cornell (ECAC)

Round Seven

Pick NHL Team        Name, Pos         School (Conference)
 183 Los Angeles      Garrett Roe, F       St. Cloud State (WCHA)
 184 Atlanta        Zach Redmond, D      Ferris State (CCHA)
 185 St. Louis       Paul Karpowich, G (I)   Clarkson (ECAC)
 187 Columbus        Sean Collins, F (I)    Cornell (ECAC)
 188 Toronto        Andrew MacWilliam, D (I)  North Dakota (WCHA)
 190 Florida        Matt Bartkowski, D (I)   Ohio State (CCHA)
 192 Chicago        Joe Gleason, D (I)     North Dakota (WCHA)
 194 San Jose        Drew Daniels, F (I '09)  Northeastern (HEA)
 197 Boston         Mark Goggin, F (I '09)   Dartmouth (ECAC)
 200 Colorado        Nathan Condon, F (I '09)  Minnesota (WCHA)
 203 Tampa Bay       David Carle, D (I *)    Denver (WCHA)
 206 Montreal        Patrick Johnson, F     Wisconsin (WCHA)
 208 Anaheim        Nick Pryor, D (I '09)   Wisconsin (WCHA)
 209 Dallas         Mike Bergin, D (I)     Rensselaer (ECAC)
 210 Pittsburgh       Nick D'Agostino, D (I '09) Cornell (ECAC)

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

Comments are closed.