College Hockey:
POTY Lamoureux Heads Up Atlantic Hockey Honors

— Air Force sophomore Jacques Lamoureux was named Player of the Year in Atlantic Hockey at the league’s annual awards banquet. The Grand Forks, N.D., native leads the nation with 31 goals, 15 power-play goals and eight game-winning goals. Lamoureux also earned the league’s scoring trophy with 38 points in 28 AHA games and was named to the All-AHA first team.

Joining Lamoureux on the first team are teammates Greg Flynn and Andrew Volkening. Flynn was also named the league’s top defenseman and Volkening won the award for lowest GAA (2.09).

Canisius’ David Kostuch was named Rookie of the Year. Kostuch led the Golden Griffins with 21 goals and tallied 32 points overall.

Bentley coach Ryan Soderquist was named Coach of the Year, Soderquist guided the Falcons to a fourth-place finish and a berth in the conference playoff semifinals. Bentley had its most successful season (17-15-2) in school history.

The AHA named three defensemen (Greg Flynn, Air Force; Zach McKelvie, Army; Dan Ringwald, RIT) to the first team because the three players tied in the balloting.

All-AHA First Team
Jacques Lamoureux, So., F, Air Force
Owen Meyer, Jr., F, Army
Brennan Sarazin, Sr., F, RIT
Greg Flynn, Sr., D, Air Force
Zach McKelvie, Sr., D, Army
Dan Ringwald, Jr., D, RIT
Andrew Volkening, Jr., G, Air Force

All-AHA Second Team
Dain Prewitt, Sr., F, Bentley
Steve Cameron, So., F, Mercyhurst
Matt Pierce, Sr., F, Mercyhurst
Bobby Raymond, Sr., D, RIT
Sean Erickson, Sr., D, UConn
Ryan Zapolski, So., G, Mercyhurst

All-AHA Third Team
Matt Fairchild, Jr., F, Air Force
Jason Weeks, Jr., F, Canisius
Scott Pitt, So., F, Mercyhurst
Alan Mazur, Jr., D, RIT
Carl Hudson, Jr., D, Canisius
Kyle Rank, Fr., G, Bentley

All-Rookie Team
David Kostuch, F, Canisius
Phil Ginand, F, Mercyhurst
Tyler Brenner, F, RIT
Marcel Alvarez, D, Army
Scott Mathis, D, Air Force
Kyle Rank, G, Bentley

Player of the Year: Jacques Lamoureux, Air Force
Rookie of the Year: David Kostuch, Canisius
Coach of the Year: Ryan Soderquist, Bentley
Best Defenseman: Greg Flynn, Air Force
Best Defensive Forward: Anthony Canzoneri, Bentley
Individual Sportsmanship Award: Anthony Canzoneri, Bentley
Team Sportsmanship Award: Army
Regular-Season Scoring Trophy: Jacques Lamoureux, Air Force
Regular-Season Goaltending Trophy: Andrew Volkening, Air Force
Regular-Season Co-Champions: Air Force, RIT

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management