College Hockey:
Best Bench Bosses: Finalists Named For Spencer Penrose Award

Nine coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2008-09 have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey coach of the year. Finalists were those either voted Coach of the Year in their conferences or who guided their teams to the NCAA Frozen Four.

Noteworthy among this year’s finalists:

• The list includes two former Penrose winners: Enrico Blasi of Miami, who won in 2006, and Jack Parker of Boston University, the 1978 honoree. With two wins last weekend, Parker now has 813, third on the all-time coaching list behind Ron Mason (924) and Jerry York (814).

• Repeat finalists include Dave Hakstol of North Dakota, Tom Serratore of Bemidji State, and Kevin Sneddon of Vermont.

• Serratore is the only finalist who is both a conference coach of the year and coach of a Frozen Four semifinalist.

The award is named in honor of the former Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA hockey championships. It will be presented at the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Coach of the Year Banquet on Saturday, April 25, in Naples, Fla.

2008-2009 Spencer Penrose finalists

Keith Allain, Yale*
Enrico Blasi, Miami#@
Greg Cronin, Northeastern*
Dallas Ferguson, Alaska*
Dave Hakstol, North Dakota*
Jack Parker, Boston University#@
Tom Serratore, Bemidji State*#
Kevin Sneddon, Vermont#
Ryan Soderquist, Bentley*

* Conference coach of the year
# NCAA Frozen Four participant
@ Previous winner

Recent winners

2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
2008 Red Berenson, Michigan

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management