College Hockey:
AFA’s Phillipich Is Derek Hines Unsung Hero Honoree

Air Force senior forward Mike Phillipich is the winner of the third annual Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award, announced Friday by the Hockey Commissioners’ Association.

The award was established by the HCA in honor of former Army player Derek Hines, who was a “consummate team player and team builder.” Hines played at Army from 1999-2003 and was a four-year letterwinner as well as a co-captain his senior season. He was killed in the line of duty in Afghanistan in September 2006.

“I cannot begin to express what it means to win an award named after such an amazing individual like Derek Hines,” said Phillipich. “I was honored to be considered for the award and this is truly humbling. My teammates inspired me to give my all every day and I simply attempted to return the favor to them.”

On the ice, Phillipich was just the fifth player in Air Force history to be named team captain for two seasons. As a sophomore, he was named MVP of the Atlantic Hockey tournament as the Falcons landed their first NCAA tournament appearance.

As a junior and senior, he has continued to lead his team to two more NCAA tournament berths. This season he excelled as a defensive specialist, leading forwards in blocked shots and becoming a primary penalty-killer.

“Mike excels in everything he does,” says Dave Toller, Air Force’s Sports Information Director. “As an administrator in college athletics, it’s a great comfort to have a student-athlete like Mike, the kind of individual that always makes the right decisions and puts the U.S. Air Force Academy in such high esteem.”

Phillipich, a 24-year old native of Lansing, Mich., owns a 3.77 overall GPA and ranks second out of 73 systems engineering management majors. The 5-foot-10, 175-pound Phillipich, who plans to work in the acquisitions field in the Air Force after graduation, is also an off-ice leader within the Academy. As a sophomore he was named course cadre for the Self-Aid and Buddy Care (SABC) program, making him an instructor for the incoming class.

Each of the six NCAA Division I hockey conferences submitted a nominee for the award that goes to the student-athlete who personifies Hines’ spirit and relentless commitment. The winner was chosen by sports information directors from the six conferences.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management