College Hockey:
Denver Has 3 First-Team All-Americans

— Denver led the way with three first-team selections when the Division I men’s All-Americans were announced Friday.

New Hampshire had one East first-team choice and two so honored on the second team. Twenty different D-I programs are represented.

Only one player is a return winner. Junior defenseman Erik Gustafsson of Northern Michigan repeated on the West second team.

There are 14 players from the United States, eight from Canada, and two from Sweden. Seventeen players participated in the NCAA tournament. Three of them advanced to the Frozen Four, all from the West. The honorees include all 10 finalists for the 2010 Hobey Baker Award.

East First Team

Ben Scrivens, sr., G, Cornell
Colby Cohen, jr., D, Boston
Brendon Nash, sr., D, Cornell
Bobby Butler, sr., F, New Hampshire
Gustav Nyquist, so., F, Maine
Chase Polacek, jr., F, Rensselaer

East Second Team

Brian Foster, sr., G, New Hampshire
Justin Braun, sr., D, Massachusetts
Blake Kessel, so., D, New Hampshire
Sean Backman, sr., F, Yale
Nick Johnson, sr., F, Sacred Heart
Broc Little, jr., F, Yale

West First Team

Marc Cheverie, jr., G, Denver
Brendan Smith, jr., D, Wisconsin
Patrick Wiercioch, so., D, Denver
Blake Geoffrion, sr., F, Wisconsin
Mark Olver, jr., F, Northern Michigan
Rhett Rakhshani, sr., F, Denver

West Second Team

Cody Reichard, so., G, Miami
Erik Gustafsson, jr., D, Northern Michigan
Jeff Petry, jr., D, Michigan State
Jack Connolly, so., F, Minnesota-Duluth
Zac Dalpe, so., F, Ohio State
Matt Read, jr., F, Bemidji State

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management