College Hockey:
RIT’s Wilson Gets Spencer Penrose Award as Top Coach

Wayne Wilson has become the first person to win national coach of the year honors by the American Hockey Coaches Association in both the Division I and Division III ranks.

Wayne Wilson

Wayne Wilson

The RIT coach earned the Spencer Penrose Award this season after taking the Tigers to the Frozen Four for the first time, in just the program’s fifth season at the Division I level.

He earned the Edward Jeremiah Award as Division III coach of the year in 2001, also at RIT.

RIT became the first Atlantic Hockey team to advance to the Frozen Four when it defeated Denver and New Hampshire in the East Regional. The Tigers lost to Wisconsin in the national semifinals.

They were 28-12-1 this season and had a 12-game winning streak.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management